SharePoint 2007

I’ve been looking into comparing / contrasting Confluence and MSFT’s SharePoint 2007 system. For now, I’ve been tracking the progress on the SP front by reading RSS feeds, watching videos, and reading through the MSFT web site.

My initial thinking: I’m not all that impressed. Maybe that’s what I get for working with a company with such a quick development cycle. 🙂

I worked pretty closely with SP 2003 and was excited with everything that could happen. Unfortunately, there’s been little actual progress from a development standpoint. After running through this video, I couldn’t even tell if there was a single dashboard (surely there must be!).

Oh, and you can download evaluation of SharePoint Services, Version 3 Beta 2 now on Longhorn Server Beta 2 and view it through the Windows Vista client Beta 2. Or, you could download an evaluation copy of Confluence right now, on whatever platform you are running on.

– w

Leave a Reply

